your floor is the number below which the job costs you money.
Most chefs price the hours a client can see. The hours a client cannot see are usually the larger half, and pricing them at zero is how a booking that felt like a good night turns out to have paid below minimum wage. Total these six, and you have a floor.
Menu design and the back-and-forth
Sourcing and shopping
Travel, both ways, with the load
Setup, service and cleanup
Food at real cost, not shelf cost
Equipment, laundry and wear
a dinner for two is not a fifth of a dinner for ten.
Most of your cost does not scale with guests. The menu design, the shop, the drive, the setup and the cleanup are close to identical for four covers or twelve. Only the food and some of the service time actually multiply. A flat per-person rate therefore overcharges large parties and badly undercharges small ones — which is why marketplace listings routinely pair a per-person rate with a minimum spend.
One chef’s listing on a US marketplace advertised from $50 per person, minimum spend $300. A table of four does not pay $200. It pays $300 — which is $75 a head, half as much again as the advertised floor. Another listing on the same site read from $250 per person with a $3,000 minimum. The advertised number is a starting point for a full table, not a rate.
Set your own minimum on purpose. It is the mechanism that stops a dinner for two consuming the same day as a dinner for ten while paying a fraction of it.
what other people charge, and whose market that is.
Use this to sanity-check the floor you built, never to replace it. Read the third column before the second one: these figures are 2 to 4× apart in places because they describe genuinely different transactions, not because the market cannot make up its mind.
| Source | Figure | Whose market this is | Groceries |
|---|---|---|---|
| Take a Chef (marketplace)US bookings 2024–2026 | $167 per guest, median | That platform’s own completed US bookings, skewed toward occasion dining. Not a national median. | Included |
| yhangry (marketplace)read 26 Aug 2026 | $130 per person average; $227 in NYC | That platform’s own reported averages, published with no sample size and no date attached. | Included |
| Private Chefs Inc. (placement agency)16 Jun 2026 | $65–$120+ per hour; roughly $600–$900+ per event | Ultra-high-net-worth placements brokered by an agency that earns a placement fee. The top of the market, not the middle. | Billed separately |
| Care.com (household employment)19 Aug 2026 | $24.20–$31.05 per hour, posted | Advertised household-employment wages — employee-style in-home cooking, not what an independent bills as a business. | Add $60–$200 a week |
| A chef in Massachusetts (direct)15 Jul 2026 | $450 a week for 3 meals; $550 for 5 | One named chef’s published weekly meal-prep pricing, covering menu design, shopping, prep, packaging, labeling and cleanup. | Shopping included; ingredient cost not stated |
| A chef in Houston (direct)21 Apr 2026 | $1,500 for up to 3 guests; $2,000 for 4–10 | One named chef’s flat event fee, in a sponsored article. Over $500 a head at the small end — the direct spread is enormous. | Billed at cost, receipts shown |
| A chef in Ohio (direct)read 26 Aug 2026 | From $100 per person; $150 for four courses | One named chef’s published per-person floors, with event minimums attached. | Billed separately |
your listed price is not what reaches your bank.
Between the number on your listing and the number in your account sit commission, payment processing, the timing of grocery reimbursement, and the bookings that fall through. None of the marketplace cost guides ranking for this question publishes its commission rate or what the chef actually receives, and one competitor advertises “0% platform fee for the first year” without stating the standard fee that implies. The one platform we found that does publish a rate takes 20%, and instructs chefs to quote a fee inclusive of it — which is at least honest about the direction that pushes prices.
Ours goes in your arithmetic as an input rather than a boast: ChefLynk takes 0% of your price. You set your quote and keep all of it. The client pays a service fee on top, which is what funds the platform and never comes out of yours. Their card is charged at checkout and the money is held in escrow before you start work, releasing 24 hours after your event’s scheduled start — 48 hours for each of your first three bookings.
who pays for the food when a client cancels?
Not one of the pricing pages we surveyed covers deposits, cancellation windows, or who absorbs the cost of groceries already bought. It is the single most expensive thing to work out for the first time while it is happening. Decide these three in advance and put them in writing before you take a booking:
- A deposit, taken at confirmationIt is the difference between a booking and an intention. Size it so that losing the rest of the fee still leaves your unrecoverable time covered.
- A cancellation windowA date after which the deposit is not returned. Set it by when you start turning other work away, not by what sounds generous.
- A separate rule for ingredientsGroceries are the part people forget. They are already spent, frequently non-returnable, and a policy that only protects your time leaves you personally funding someone else’s change of plan.
the pricing questions chefs actually ask.
What should I charge for my first private chef booking?
Why can’t you just tell me a per-person rate?
Should groceries be included in my price or billed separately?
What does a minimum spend actually do to my rate?
How much do platforms take?
What happens if the client cancels after I have bought the food?
Should I count on tips?
every figure, and whose market it came from.
Marketplace listings rotate and rate guides go stale without being re-dated — two of the sources below are years older than they look, and we say which. Dates are when we read them.
- Take a Chef — Private chef pricing$167 median per guest, footnoted as median price per guest on real US bookings 2024–2026. Also the source for the 10–20% gratuity guidance and the no-surcharge special diets policy. Read 26 Aug 2026.
- yhangry — Private chefs, USListing floors and minimum spends, read live 26 Aug 2026. These are rotating snapshots and will drift.
- yhangry — Private chef jobs, US$130/person average budget, $227 in NYC, $817 average per job before its 20% commission, average group size 10. No date or sample size given — and the same page states it has 17 US chefs while its own header claims 1,000+.
- Private Chefs Inc. — How much does a private chef cost$65–$120+ per hour, $600–$900+ per event, and “Groceries and ingredients are billed separately from the chef’s salary or fee.” Dated 16 Jun 2026.
- Care.com — How much does a personal chef cost$24.20–$31.05/hr national average posted rate; city range $17.71 San Antonio to $30.62 Seattle. Dated 19 Aug 2026.
- Thumbtack — Home chef prices$40 to $100 or more per person nationally. ⚠️ Page is dated 26 Aug 2020 — six years old, and its headline price box is personalized to your ZIP, so a different reader sees a different number. The $1-per-mile and $250-per-server figures on it are two named individual chefs’ own policies quoted in the article, NOT Thumbtack marketplace data.
- Wicked Local — Wayland MA personal chef profile$450/week for 3 meals, $550 for 5, covering menu design, shopping, prep, packaging, labeling and cleanup. ⚠️ Whether the ingredient COST sits inside that fee is not stated. Dated 15 Jul 2026.
- Houston Food Finder — private chef costs and servicesOne chef’s $1,500 (up to 3 guests) and $2,000 (4–10) flat fees, groceries billed at cost with receipts shown. ⚠️ A sponsored article. Dated 21 Apr 2026.
- The Prestige Edit — Cleveland private chefOne chef’s published per-person floors: from $100, and $150 for four courses, with event minimums. Read 26 Aug 2026.
- American Personal & Private Chef Association — Questions to askPublishes pricing STRUCTURE (per serving, groceries included) and no dollar figures at all. ⚠️ Stamped “Updated 4/04/2010” — sixteen years old.